Posted by: Ruth Morton | November 7, 2007

Methodological Evolution

As I have noted on my methods page, my data collection methods have changed subtly over the past couple of months.  Although I have been able to talk to some young people, on other occasions it has not been appropriate and so I have found myself making much greater use of indirect data collection methods with home educated children – such as asking them to create short PowerPoint presentations or pieces of writing or pictures about their experiences of home education.

At the same time I have increasingly realised that, despite my early intentions, the parents are at the heart of this particular piece of research, although the views of the children are still an important part of my data.

Leave a Reply

Categories

